General Research Fund Competition

Fiscal Year 2021

The General Research Fund (GRF) is a competitive award program that provides funding for the advancement of the university's research program. The Office of Research provides funds to each school or college and assists in the administration of these funds. The Vice Chancellor for the Office of Research has delegated to each entity the responsibility for awarding these funds. Each entity determines proposal criteria and has its own review committee, application process, and submission deadline. The Faculty Senate Research Committee is responsible for reviewing reports submitted by each school or college outlining the progress each entity has made in meeting its research goals. The allocation of funds to all entities for the following three-year period will be determined by this review.

Each faculty member on the Lawrence campus is eligible to submit one GRF proposal to his or her school or college as the principal investigator. Awards are based on the merit of the proposal, which includes the scholarly excellence of the proposal, its benefit to the university, and to the individual researcher. Each entity may add additional proposal criteria, as they deem appropriate. All funds are awarded for a one-year period (July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021) and may be used for summer salary, student or GRA salary, supplies and travel. The State of Kansas does not allow payment of tuition with these funds.

GRF Guidelines & GRF Handbook are available for research administrators and PI's to use in managing their GRF award. If you have any questions regarding GRF funding, please contact Kelly Baysinger, kbaysinger@ku.edu.

In the table below you will find the contact and submission information for each entity. Please contact the applicable entity for detailed application information.

College/School

Contact Information

Submission Deadline

School of Architecture & Design

Mahbub Rashid - Patti Baker

mrashid@ku.edu 785-864-4405

pmbaker@ku.edu 785-864-3114

March 6, 2020

School of Business

Charly Edmonds
cedmonds@ku.edu 785-864-3841

January 24, 2020

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

• SOTA • Behavioral • Humanities • Life Sciences • Physical Sciences • Social Sciences

Joy Ward – Tamara Falicov
joyward@ku.edu 785-864-5218

tfalicov@ku.edu 785-864-1353

March 6, 2020

School of Education

Lisa Wolf-Wendel
lwolf@ku.edu 785-864-9722

 

February 17, 2020

School of Engineering

Candan Tamerler – Heather Abernathy

ctamerler@ku.edu 785-864-2984

habernathy@ku.edu 785-864-4512

February 14, 2020

School of Journalism & Mass Communications

Tien-Tsung Lee

ttlee@ku.edu  785-864-7626

February 14, 2020

School of Law

Jessica Brown

jessicabrown@ku.edu  785-864-4777

February 21, 2020

Library

Scott Cossel

scossel@ku.edu  785-864-4599

February 21, 2020

School of Music

Terri Morris
tlmorris@ku.edu  785-864-3422

February 6, 2020

School of Pharmacy

Rick Dobrowsky

dobrowsky@ku.edu  785-864-3531

February 14, 2020

School of Social Welfare

Elenor Buffington

ebuffington@ku.edu  785-864-5201

February 14, 2020